Stand Out Studio photographer carl hewlett attended the election count in stroud last night providing coverage for the Stroud news & Journal and national picture agencies.

Siobhan Baillie has become Stroud's first ever female MP after defeating Labour's David Drew at the 2019 General Election. Ms Baillie won 31,582 votes, while Mr Drew won 27, 742.

Stroud, UK. 13 Dec, 2019. The new conservative MP for Stroud Siobhan Baillie, celebrates with her supporters. Credit: Carl Hewlett/Stand Out Studio

Speaking to the Stroud News & Journal after the result was announced, Ms Baillie said:

"I’m absolutely thrilled to bits. It’s a real endorsement of my team's work and everything that we’ve done here since I’ve been a candidate since August 2018. It's the biggest privilege and honour I’ve ever had. I’ve already been working on high streets and transport and further education and I’ll continue that work right away. I’ve been going around canvassing so I know the residents will be in my inbox and talking to me about a number of issues, and nationally we’ve all pledged as Conservative candidates to deliver the first stage of Brexit to stop all the squabbling on that basis."

Stroud, UK. 13 Dec, 2019. Counting of ballot papers for the Stroud constituency gets underway. Credit: Carl Hewlett/Stand Out Studio

Stroud, UK. 13 Dec, 2019. Agents counting votes as verification begins at Stratford Park Leisure Centre. Credit: Carl Hewlett/Stand Out Studio

It was a disappointing night for David Drew, who was vying to serve Stroud for a fifth term of office. Following the defeat, Mr Drew said:

"It's not been the easiest campaign, but none of us will ever give up fighting for what we believe in.”

Stroud, UK. 13 Dec, 2019. David Drew, Labour Party candidate for the Stroud Constituency arrives at the count. Credit: Carl Hewlett/Stand Out Studio

Full results as follows:

  • Siobhan Baillie, Conservatives: 31,582
  • David Drew, Labour: 27, 742
  • Molly Scott Cato, Green Party: 4,954
  • Desi Latimer, Brexit Party: 1,086
  • Glenville Gogerly, Libertarian Party: 567